Internal ID: 1192 [see the .xml file]
Identifier: NLW 5500C, no. 127
Editors: Transcribed by Ffion Mair Jones; edited by Ffion Mair Jones; encoded by Vivien Williams. (2019)

Dear Sir

I do most sensibly feel for the situation of miss Bull and yourself. The little I have said before on the melancholy subject is all I can urge. In my own case, I shunned all consolation. Pity only heightens, or renews sorryow. Think not unfriendly in [...] dropping the subject, after admiring the elegance of the design, & the warmth of affection expressed in the attendant lines. Permit me ask [sic] a copy of both on paper the size of [...]imperial quarter of sheet. I mean it for my isle of wight. but not for publication. my memorial on a similar occasion is given at p. 111. of my Whiteford.1

notwithstanding Moses has for a good while past ^been taken up with miniatures, he has engaged to undertake yr Whiteford & Holywell in the time prescribed. & He shall do another for myself. Be so good, by virtue of the inclosed, to get one hot pressed ^copy for myself, which you will be so good as to send with yrs2

I must mention a thing of little moment to you, that moses gets so much by his miniatures, that he must raise his price: His harvest begins late, & we cannot think him blameable for profiting of it.

I am glad to hear that you renew yr amusements. I persist in mine in deficance of my approaching 71st. I have actually printed two sheets of my View of Hindoostan. It will be magnifique in large quarto embellished with plates. It is meant only as a pattern to David to guide him in the mode of publication of the ^rest of outlines of the globe that magnum opus.

Where is yr the Grove & where will be yr residence next month. odd questions but not without their meaning. There is a possibility of Mrs Pennant & I visiting a worthy relation of hers at East Malling, in Kent.3 She will keep her resolution of never entering the capital again. I wd do the same but my duty to my sister impells me to go there for four or five days. I wd rather hear that mr Bull was in town at that time than elsewhere for my time will be pretious: & I would [...] grudge all, but on people pretious to me

Since I wrote last I can exult in being a happy grandsire to a fine stout lad. who with all the rest of my stock surround me. I had great fears about my Son: he was attacked by a severe cough in the easterly winds of last month: & all our fears were revived. I sent for him down & thanks to heaven &Native air & exe[...]rcise has more than restored him. He not [sic] sixteen till august, yet is taller than myself. He takes kindly to drawing & I think will excell.

I am glad to hear that yr worthy friend general Rainsford is returned. my best wishes attend him.

That Peace of mind; & resignation attend you & miss Bull is the warm prayer of
Dear Sir
Yr ever affect. & obliged friend

Tho. Pennant.

Please to send the copies by the chester coach directed to me.

Editorial notes

1. Two Latin inscriptions to Sarah Pennant, prefaced by the exclamations 'The recent visitation of Heaven! The unclosed wound!' are given in HPWaH, p. 111.
2. This paragraph has been blocked off as a separate section.
3. Sarah (d. 1740), the mother of Anne Pennant (née Mostyn), was the eldest daughter of Robert Western of London and his wife Anne, eldest daughter and coheiress of Sir Richard Shirley of Preston, Sussex. Relations on her mother's side may have settled at East Malling, Kent, a hamlet and an ancient ecclesiastical parish.

Next letter in the Pennant-Bull correspondencePrevious letter in the Pennant-Bull correspondence